Can Guys and Girls Really Just Be Friends?

By: Daley Keator

To quote one of the greatest romantic movies of all times “Men and women can’t be friends because the sex part always gets in the way”. The question if guys and girls can really just be friends has been debated for decades, but to answer this age old question in my experience the answer is yes. Growing up with a brother a mere two years younger I spent a good part of my childhood building snow forts and playing in the woods until dark with the boys. When you are young you don’t think about the gender of your playmates, its just simple you enjoy hanging out with them and having fun. Once middle school hits the game changes and things begin to get a little more complicated; suddenly people start cracking jokes that you have a crush on the boy that you have innocently enjoyed hanging out with for years.

Then comes high school. Throughout high school I had a lot of friends both guys and girls, however my best friend just so happened to be a boy. Lachlan and I were friendly in middle school however it wasn’t until freshman year that our friendship really began to develop. Our moms had been friends for years but we always kind of did our own thing until the fateful summer when he missed soccer tryouts and decided to spend his fall on the rowing team with me. Somehow between our love of the sport, and spending almost every day together our personalities clicked and we became best friends. I never once thought of our relationship as strange, in my mind he was my unbiological brother. We would talk about everything; he was always there to listen to me if I was having a bad day, and vice versa. We would spend our time hanging out at each other’s houses, grabbing dinner, going on adventures, and driving down to the lake just to sit and talk about the future. Our friendship was solid, and while to others it may have seemed strange, it worked for us.

Being the girl I didn’t care about being in my sweats with messy hair and no make-up, I didn’t even care if he saw me ugly crying (as my family likes to put it when I’m upset there is a lot of liquid involved) meaning that I not only have tears streaming down my face, but it also involves snot and drool. He never worried about the way he looked either; he knew he didn’t need to pull out a button down and Khakis for me, and that I was fine with his gym shorts and zip ups. Everything was completely normal to me until one night my junior year in high school when I was hanging out with my girlfriends and suddenly one of them blurted out “We have been wondering what are you and Lachlan”. I was completely caught off guard by this question; I responded with a direct “we are best friends… why?” She quickly responded how we had been spending a lot of time together and that it seemed strange, but then in the next breathe she asked me if I could put in a good word for her.

Despite people questioning our relationship things didn’t change between us, and my response was always clear we love each other dearly but we are not and never will be in love with each other. I can honestly say that neither one of us has ever thought about the other in a romantic way which is a defining characteristic in our relationship. We continue to give each other tough love, support each other’s dreams, and cheer each other on. Senior year he met his soul mate and while that took some getting used to because I didn’t have him around all the time anymore, they are a disgustingly cute couple and I honestly couldn’t picture him with anyone else.

To this day he is still the one of the first people I text when something good, or bad happens, I go to him for advice constantly, and he never fails to put a smile on my face. He is my family and that is one thing that will never change. I continue to force him out of his comfort zone and he will always remain a calming levelheaded figure in my life. For many this concept is foreign and seems impossible, and maybe I did just get lucky, but in my opinion I believe that guys and girls can be platonic friends.

Leave a Reply

